All posts by Uristocrat

Dr. Dre ‘Compton: A Soundtrack’ Cover & Tracklist

CPT Inspired by the film, Straight Outta Compton, Dr. Dre announced his final project, Compton: A Soundtrack during today’s broadcast of  ‘The Pharmacy’ on Apple Music. The soundtrack drops August 7 and will consist of new music including guests Snoop Dogg, Ice Cube, Eminem, Kendrick Lamar, Game, Jon Connor, Marsha Ambrosius, Jill Scott, King Mez and more. Pre-order now. 1 Intro (feat. Dr. Dre) 2 Talk About It (feat. King Mez & Justus) 3 Genocide (feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay) 4 […]

via Rap Radar

Travi$ Scott Arrested at Lollapalooza

Travi$ Scott Arrested at Lollapalooza

Photo via Instagram

Travi$ Scott was arrested and charged with disorderly conduct following his set at Lollapalooza, ABC7 Chicago reports. Police said that Scott encouraged the crowd to climb over security barricades. 

Scott reportedly took the stage, performed one song, and according to a statement from the Office of Emergency Management, he told fans to cross the barricade. He was joined on stage by a few fans before the show was shut down and Scott was taken into custody. Watch video of the brief set, wherein Scott chants "we want rage," below.

Around noon CST, Scott posted the below photo on Instagram with the caption, "Love to u fans. Thank u lollapalooza Learned a lot from this."

A photo posted by flame (@travisscott) onAug 2, 2015 at 9:19am PDT

via Latest News – Pitchfork

David Byrne Calls for Streaming Revenue Transparency in New Op-Ed

David Byrne Calls for Streaming Revenue Transparency in New Op-Ed

David Byrne has written about the business of streaming in the past. He argued that free streaming services should go away, that artists should be paid significantly more, that streaming platforms hinder discovery, and that subscription-based services could threaten the overall monetization of creative endeavors. In a new op-ed for The New York Times, he’s calling for transparency in how streaming revenues are split.

Byrne’s piece, titled "Open the Music Industry’s Black Box", outlines that it’s nearly impossible to know how a listener’s subscription payments get divvied up. He argues that knowing the full breakdown of revenues is key to creating a "fairer system of pay".

He discusses some of his attempts to contact companies like YouTube and Apple Music to have the revenue breakdown explained, but said those conversations hit dead ends.

I asked Apple Music to explain the calculation of royalties for the trial period. They said they disclosed that only to copyright owners (that is, the labels). I have my own label and own the copyright on some of my albums, but when I turned to my distributor, the response was, “You can’t see the deal, but you could have your lawyer call our lawyer and we might answer some questions.”

Other problems he posed are the "seemingly arbitrary" way labels have reportedly assigned income to artists on their roster, saying that the number of streams doesn’t necessarily determine who gets the most money. He also says other avenues of monetization between labels and streaming services are hidden from artists, including "advances from the streaming services, catalog service payments for old songs, and equity in the streaming services themselves."

Byrne is on the Board of Directors for SoundExchange, the nonprofit digital royalty collection and distribution organization. He’s been working with SoundExchange advocating for the Fair Play Fair Pay Act, "which would force AM and FM stations to pay musicians when their recordings are broadcast."

Read the full op-ed. 

Read our Cover Story "Station to Station: The Past, Present, and Future of Streaming Music".

via Latest News – Pitchfork

Dr. Dre Announces First Album in 15 Years

After Ice Cube briefly hinted at an August 1 surprise album, Dr. Dre has finally confirmed his third solo album, titled Compton: A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre. The two were recently together on the Beats 1 radio show "The Pharmacy," where Dre also remarked about the cancelled release of Detox:
“I didn’t like it. It wasn’t good. The record, it just wasn’t good … I worked my ass off on it, and I don’t think I did a good enough job.”
The upcoming album will be released as an Apple Music exclusive on August 7, but you can pre-order the album now on iTunes here. You can find the album’s tracklist below.
Compton: A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre (Tracklist)
01 “Intro”
02 “Talk About It” (Feat. King Mez & Justus)
03 “Genocide” (Feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)
04 “It’s All On Me” (Feat. Justus & BJ The Chicago Kid)
05 “All In A Day’s Work” (Feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)
06 “Darkside/Gone” (Feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)
07 “Loose Cannons” (Feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um)
08 “Issues” (Feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak)
09 “Deep Water” (Feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus)
10 Jon Connor – “One Shot One Kill” (Feat. Snoop Dogg)
11 The Game – “Just Another Day” (Feat. Asia Bryant)
12 “For The Love Of Money” (Feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor)
13 “Satisfiction” (Feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)
14 “Animals” (Feat. Anderson Paak)
15 “Medicine Man” (Feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak)
16 “Talking To My Diary”

Click here to view full gallery at

via Hypebeast

Pharrell, Pusha T & More Star in adidas Originals’ “Original Superstar” Lookbook

adidas Originals continue the campaign for their resurrected Superstar sneaker with a lookbook featuring high-profile endorsees Pharrell Williams and Pusha T. The rap giants are shot alongside influencers like VJ Mian, Grigoriy Dobrygin…

The post Pharrell, Pusha T & More Star in adidas Originals’ “Original Superstar” Lookbook appeared first on Highsnobiety.

via Highsnobiety

Nike Air Presto “Island Blue”

Hot on the heels of several OG colorway releases — "Brutal Honey," "Lightning" and "Unholy Cumulus" — Nike has dropped yet another classic iteration from 2000 for its Air Presto silhouette, aptly dubbed "Island Blue." This breezy design features a predominantly blue upper with hits of white at the Swoosh branding on the toebox and laces, while a cloudy white treatment is applied to the TPU cage. The upper sits atop a clean signature white and blue sole unit. There’s no word yet on its exact release date in the US, but expect the Nike Air Presto “Island Blue” to drop before summer’s end at select Nike stockists worldwide.

Click here to view full gallery at

via Hypebeast

“Persian Violet” Makes the Move to the Nike Air Huarache

It seems as though the Nike Air Huarache arrives in different hues each and everyday and today is no different as yet another iteration will be available this Fall. Hitting retailers in a “Persian Violet” hue, this Nike Air Huarache silhouette features a mostly white upper with accented hints of the aforementioned namesake canvassing the […]

The post “Persian Violet” Makes the Move to the Nike Air Huarache appeared first on Nice Kicks.

via Nice Kicks