Category Archives: Music


The Roots unveil “And Then You Shoot Your Cousin” album artwork

The Roots release the artwork for their upcoming album  …and then you shoot your cousin, which will arrive via Def Jam on May 13th. The cover for the album features a mixed media collage entitled “Pittsburgh Memory” by late New York artist Romare Bearden.

Black Thought has told XXL that the piece will follow a similar conceptual approach like their 2011 offering undun.

“It’s another concept album in the spirit of undun. but it’s not just about just one kind of character, we create quite a few different characters in this record. It’s satire, but in that satire it’s an analysis of some of the stereotypes perpetuated in not only the hip-hop community, but in the community. I don’t know if that makes any sense.”

Listen to the single from the album “When the People Cheer” here.

The Roots have also unveiled the album’s various deluxe bundles and packages. In addition to the album on CD, mp3, or vinyl, other goodies include t-shirts, signed posters, and photo booklets, among others. Pre-orders are now ongoing.


Nas – Illmatic XX (Album Stream)

Nas releases IllmaticXX today to mark the 20th anniversary edition of his 1994 debut classic, Illmatic. The re-release of the album includes exclusive remixes and the 10 original songs from the album. The album is available now through iTunes. Listen to the new tracks from the album below:

1. “I’m A Villain” (Unreleased)
2. “The Stretch Armstrong and Bobbito Show on WKCR October 28, 1993″ (Unreleased Freestyle)
3. “Halftime” (Butcher Remix)
4. “It Ain’t Hard To Tell” (Remix)
5. “One Love” (LG Main Mix)
6. “Life’s A Bitch” (Arsenal Mix)
7. “One Love” (One L Main Mix)
8. “The World Is Yours” (Tip Mix)
9. “It Ain’t Hard To Tell” (The Stink Mix)
10. “It Ain’t Hard To Tell” (The Laidback Remix)


The Black Keys release single “Turn Blue”

The Black Keys will release their new album Turn Blue on May 13. Here is one of the tracks from the album here titled “Turn Blue.”

The Black Keys’ new album Turn Blue will be released May 13th. Pre-order the album at or iTunes and receive the single “Fever” and “Turn Blue” instantly.

Preorder on iTunes:
Preorder on Amazon:
Subscribe for more new music:

You can watch the trailer for the album Turn Blue below:


Listen to “The Boonies” from Killer Mike and The Alchemist on “The Boondocks” TV Show Mixtape

The Boondocks are returning to the Adult Swim on April 21st. To celebrate the return of the show is a new track from Killer Mike that is featured on the show themed mixtape. The track is titled “The Boonies” and comes featuring production from The Alchemist. The Boondocks Mixtape, which is out on April 16, features songs from Smoke DZA, Lil Herb, Chevy Woods, Problem, Roscoe Dash, Two 9, Skeme, and more. It’s hosted by DJ Drama, Don Cannon, and Trendsetter Sense.


Life and Times: The Truth with YG

In the season five premiere of The Truth With Elliott Wilson, Elliott heads to Los Angeles to talk to YG about his debut album, My Krazy Life, working with DJ Mustard, and the resurgence of the West.

This is my favorite album right now. You know whats interesting about this interview? YG admits that he signed with Def Jam because of the video games. For someone like me, I would say it was due to the history of the label with DMX, Jay Z, Method Man etc… Interesting perspective.

Source: Life and Times


Jamie xx releases the video for “Sleep Sound”

Jamie xx releases the video for his latest single  “Sleep Sound”. The video comes directed by London-based artist and poet Sofia Mattioli, the clip draws upon the listening experiences of a dozen members of the Manchester Deaf Centre, whose ages range from five to 27. Mattoli had this to say about the video:

“I was on a train listening to music, getting deep into it, and this girl started staring at me. After a while I took my headphones off and she came up to me, started signing and then wrote me a note to say that she was deaf but could almost feel the music by my movement. The relationship between silence and music is a big part of what I am trying to express with my work, says Mattioli. The first kid in the video, Archie, was bliss—all of them were amazing. I hope this is a project I can develop further.”

The track will be featured on Jamie’s upcoming project “Girl”/”Sleep Sound” out May 5 via Young Turks.