Peanuts x Lacoste 2015 Fall/Winter Collection

After the success of their 2010 collection, Peanuts and Lacoste return with another collaboration for a seasonal set of the brand’s signature polo shirts in multiple colorways, as well as a navy sweatshirt. The tops feature whimsical scaled-down graphics of your favorite Peanuts characters, including Snoopy and Charlie Brown, interacting with the iconic Lacoste crocodile. Pieces from the forthcoming collaborative project will be offered in both adult and children sizes, available this November.

Click here to view full gallery at

via Hypebeast

Nike KD 8 EXT “Black Gold Woven”

Kevin Durant’s latest signature shoe with Nike is about to drop in a sleek new colorway over a premium woven upper. Featuring a Black/Metallic Gold-Laser Crimson theme, the new KD 8 EXT is constructed with a fully woven upper in solid black, matching black laces, metallic gold accents as seen on the "kd" initials on the tongue, a crimson red midsole stripe, and a gum rubber outsole with Zoom Air technology. The OKC Thunder star’s signature is etched in red on the insole. Keep an eye out for these KD 8 EXTs to be released sometime this month.

Click here to view full gallery at

via Hypebeast

Nike Air Force 1 High Retro QS “Color of the Month” Pack

With the new year creeping up on us, Nike’s got big plans ahead for its iconic Air Force 1. The sportswear manufacturer is set to unveil a string of new releases with the "Color of the Month" pack, celebrating the classic model in six classic colorways. Originally unveiled in 1982, the Bruce Kilgore-designed basketball shoe features a leather upper with the signature ankle strap, a PU midsole with Air-Sole unit, a large Swoosh logo on the side, and a rubber outsole.
Originally released in the ’80s, the "Color of the Month" series was spearheaded by Paul Blinken, formerly of Cinderella Shoes, and Harold Rudo, formerly of Charley Rudo Sports, in cooperation with other Baltimore retailer Downtown Locker Room. Blinken and Rudo first pitched the idea to Nike headquarters back in ’83, urging for the original shoe to be honored with new and exclusive colorways in the Baltimore area. After its initial success, the program took off in ’84 with a new colorway dropping each month, also thrusting the "Three Amigos" (Blinken, Rudo, and DTLR) to the top of the footwear retail business at the time. Nike’s revival of the initiative will be seeing a retro colorway drop each month for the next six months, in chronological order of historical releases.
Check out the release dates above within the gallery, and to read more about the story behind Blinken and Rudo’s conception of "Color of the Month," head over to Sole Collector.

Click here to view full gallery at

via Hypebeast

American Apparel Files for Bankruptcy Protection

Years of controversial advertising couldn’t save American Apparel from a trip to bankruptcy court.

Today, the long-troubled company, unprofitable for half a decade, filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection, part of an equity arrangement with creditors designed to trim its debt from $300 million to $135 million. Lenders will provide about $160 million in financing and new capital to keep the company operating during a six-month restructuring phase. All told, American Apparel had approximately 9,000 employees and operates 227 stores in 19 countries.

The filing was not unexpected, especially since American Apparel has posted a single profitable quarter in the past five years, and its stock has been trading of late around 12 cents per share. Sales for its second quarter fell 17 percent, and it has lost about $300 million since 2009. Through the years, the company failed to keep pace with fashion trends, and some believed it overcharged for basic items like T-shirts and slacks.

"I would contend that American Apparel has been and continues to be dramatically outflanked by its competitors, including Urban Outfitters, Forever 21, American Eagle, H&M, Zara and, most recently, TopShop," said Scott Davis, chief growth officer at Prophet, a brand consultancy. "American Apparel has lost relevancy and thus lost its ability to inspire, influence and compel consumers to choose their apparel over more dynamic brands in the category."

To some extent, the company is synonymous with its founder and former chief executive, Dov Charney, who cultivated a bad-boy image, championed salacious marketing and was cited in several sexual-harassment suits by former employees before his ouster last year. New CEO Paula Schneider, a former Warnaco executive who took over as 2015 began, toned things down considerably. For example, American Apparel’s Tumblr, once brimming with quasi-pornographic shots of panties at half-mast and topless female models, is decidedly G-rated, with more sedate fashion images on display.

In a statement, American Apparel said it would continue to create "marketing campaigns that are positive, inclusive and socially conscious."

Charney, who still owns 5 percent of American Apparel, in June filed a $100 million lawsuit against the company and hedge fund Standard General, accusing them of conspiring to bounce him out.

via AdWeek : All News